The Irish Novel: 1960-2010
The Irish Novel: 1960-2010

Brand: Cork University Press

The Irish Novel: 1960-2010

  • Publish Date: 2012-08-06
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Author: George O'Brien
Regular price $64.30 Sale price $28.75

Attention:For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

The increased visibility of the Irish novel in recent years has been one of the outstanding developments in contemporary Irish literature. This development has coincided with a period of significant change in Ireland as a whole. The Irish Novel 1960-2010 is the first book to study how the novel has been involved in discussing the seeds of change and the response to change as it evolved. The result is a wide-ranging survey, accessible and rewarding for both the student and the general public. Original and insightful it is written with a distinctive blend of sympathy and engagement. The Irish Novel 1960-2010 is an invaluable guide to an important cultural phenomenon.

Authors covered:
Edna OBrien, Sam Hanna Bell, John Broderick, Michael Farrell, Samuel Beckett, Brian Moore, Aidan Higgins, Flann OBrien, Anthony C. West, James Plunkett, J.G. Farrell, Francis Stuart, Jennifer Johnston, Vincent Banville, Ian Cochrane, Maurice Leitch, Caroline Blackwood, Benedict Kiely, Patrick McGinley, John McGahern, Julia OFaolain, John Banville, Dorothy Nelson, Bernard MacLaverty, Desmond Hogan, Mary Leland, J.M. ONeill, Carlo Gbler, William Trevor, Timothy OGrady, Dermot Bolger, Hugo Hamilton, Patrick McCabe, Roddy Doyle, Dermot Healy, Emma Donoghue, Seamus Deane, Anne Haverty, Joseph OConnor, Glenn Patterson, Mary Morrissy, Eoin McNamee, Deirdre Madden, Keith Ridgway, Colm Tibn, Sebastian Barry, Gerard Donovan, Anne Enright, Joseph ONeill, Colum McCann, Paul Murray.

Customer Reviews