Talking To The Dead: A Novel
Talking To The Dead: A Novel

Brand: Bantam

Talking To The Dead: A Novel

  • Publish Date: 2013-09-24
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Harry Bingham
Regular price $36.21 Sale price $14.35

Attention:For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

A mesmerizing and thrilling novelperfect for fans of Tana French and Stieg Larssonthat introduces a modern, unforgettable rookie cop whose past is as fascinating and as deadly as the crimes she investigates.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Boston Globe The Seattle Times


SHE KNOWS WHAT ITS LIKE. . . .

At first, the murder scene appears sad, but not unusual: a young woman undone by drugs and prostitution, her six-year-old daughter dead alongside her. But then detectives find a strange piece of evidence in the squalid house: the platinum credit card of a very wealthyand long deadsteel tycoon. What is a heroin-addicted hooker doing with the credit card of a well-known and powerful man who died months ago? This is the question that the most junior member of the investigative team, Detective Constable Fiona Griffiths, is assigned to answer.

But D.C. Griffiths is no ordinary cop. Shes earned a reputation at police headquarters in Cardiff, Wales, for being odd, for not picking up on social cues, for being a little overintense. And theres that gap in her past, the two-year hiatus that everyone assumes was a breakdown. But Fiona is a crack investigator, quick and intuitive. She is immediately drawn to the crime scene, and to the tragic face of the six-year-old girl, who she is certain has something to tell her . . . something that will break the case wide open.

Ignoring orders and protocol, Fiona begins to explore far beyond the rich mans credit card and into the secrets of her seaside city. And when she uncovers another dead prostitute, Fiona knows that shes only begun to scratch the surface of a dark world of crime and murder. But the deeper she digs, the more danger she risksnot just from criminals and killers but from her own past . . . and the abyss that threatens to pull her back at any time.

Praise for Talking to the Dead

Gritty, compelling . . . a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year.USA Today

With Detective Constable Fiona Fi Griffiths, Harry Bingham . . . finds a sweet spot in crime fiction . . . think Stieg Larssons Lisbeth Salander . . . Denise Minas Paddy Meehan [or] Lee Childs Jack Reacher. . . . The writing is terrific.The Boston Globe

The mystery-thriller genre is already so staffed with masterminds that its hard to make room for another. But along comes a book like Talking to the Dead, and suddenly an unadvertised opening is filled. . . . [This] has the feel of something fresh and compelling.New York Daily News

A stunner with precision plotting, an unusual setting, and a deeply complex protagonist . . . We have the welcome promise of more books to come about Griffiths.The Seattle Times

Recommended highly . . . [a] riveting procedural thriller.Library Journal (starred review)


From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews