The End Of Average
The End Of Average

PENGUIN

The End Of Average

  • Publish Date: 1857-05-23
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Todd Rose
Regular price $36.88 Sale price $14.40

Attention:For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

In this book, praised as groundbreaking by the Telegraph and perfect for readers of The Power of Habit and Quiet, Harvard scientist Todd Rose shows how our one-size-fits-all world is actually one-size-fits-none

The End of Average shows how success lies in customizing to our individual needs in all aspects of our lives, from the way we mark tests to the medical treatment we receive.

All around us, we think, are the average peoplewith the average height, the average salary and the average house. But the average doesnt just influence how we see ourselves; our entire social system has been built around this average-size-fits-all model. Schools are designed for the average student. Health care is designed for the average patient. Employers try to fill average job descriptions with employees on an average career trajectory. Our government implements programs and initiatives to serve the average person. For more than a century, weve believed that the best way to run our institutions is by focusing on the average person. But when you actually drill down into the numbers, you find an amazing fact: no one is averagewhich means that our society built for everyone is actually serving no one.

Using principles from the Science of the Individual, The End of Average shows how we can break down the average to create individualized success that benefits everyone in the long run. Its time we stopped settling for average, and Todd Rose will show you how.

Customer Reviews